Josef Ernst Köpplinger

Stage Director

Josef E. Köpplinger was born in Lower Austria. He studied at the Academy of Music and Performing Arts in Vienna and attended seminars in New York and London.

He got his first permanent position from Marietheres List at the City Theatre in Regensburg. His directing career brought him from Vienna via Germany to Switzerland, to France, England, America and Japan. His repertory includes all categories of drama from opera to operetta and musicals. For the Musical Festival at Prugg Castle (Lower Austria) he was appointed as the youngest artistic director in Austria. In 2004-2007 he was drama director at the theatre in St Gallen. In 2005 he was able to initiate the St Gallen Authorsʼ Week drama competition and, in addition, helped to found the St Gallen Festival. From 2007 to 2012 Josef E. Köpplinger was artistic director of Klagenfurt Municipal Theatre. There he in 2009 founded the MUT competition for musical entertainment theatre and staged, among other plays, the premieres of Peter Turriniʼs »Sylvester« and from the missing Cherubini opera »Koukourgi« which was broadcast live by 3Sat. Among his other guest director productions were: »Show Boat« (Opéra National du Rhin, 2002), »Der tollste Tag« (Vienna Volkstheater, 2003), »Gräfin Mariza« (2004) and »Der Opernball« (2005) at Gärtnerplatztheater, »Il barbiere di Siviglia« (Tokyo National Opera, 2005), Kienzlʼs »Evangelimann« (Vienna Volksoper, 2006), the German premiere of Hans Werner Henzeʼs »LʼUpupa« (Hamburg State Opera, 2006), »Les Misérables« (2007), »West Side Story« (2008) and »Le nozze di Figaro« (2010) at Graz Opera, »Hello, Dolly!« (Vienna Volksoper, 2010), Schnitzlerʼs »Das weite Land« (Theater in der Josefstadt, Vienna, 2010), »La traviata« (Aalto Theatre, Essen, 2012) and »Der Gockel« (Theater in der Josefstadt, Vienna, 2015).

Starting with the 2012/2013 season, Josef E. Köpplinger assumed artistic direction of Gärtnerplatztheater and has since then staged, among other things, »Im weißen Rössl«, »Anything Goes«, the premiere of Friedrich Cerhaʼs »Onkel Präsident«, »Der Mann von La Mancha«, the continental premiere of »Chitty Chitty Bang Bang«, »Die Zirkusprinzessin«, »Cinderella«, the world premiere of the new musical »Gefährliche Liebschaften« by Marc Schubring and Wolfgang Adenberg, »Singinʼ in the Rain«, »A Little Night Music«, »Viktoria und ihr Husar« and the world premiere of Johanna Dodererʼs opera »Liliom« for which he also wrote the libretto.

In 2012 the Munich press designated him as the »Abendzeitung Star of the Year« and awarded his team the »Tageszeitung Rose Bouquet«. In 2013 Josef E. Köpplinger was awarded the Bavarian Culture Prize, and in 2014 he received a second »Abendzeitung Star of the Year« for »Die Zirkusprinzessin«.

Contact:
Michael Gruber


For a full biography please contact:

Josef Ernst Köpplinger

Regisseur

Josef E. Köpplinger wurde in Niederösterreich geboren. Er studierte an der Hochschule für Musik und Darstellende Kunst in Wien und besuchte Seminare in New York und London.

Ein erstes Festengagement erhielt er durch Marietheres List an die Städtischen Bühnen Regensburg. Seine Regiekarriere führte ihn von Wien über Deutschland in die Schweiz, nach Frankreich, England, Amerika und Japan. Sein Repertoire umfasst alle Sparten von Schauspiel über Oper bis zu Operette und Musical. Für das Musicalfestival Schloss Prugg/NÖ wurde er zum jüngsten Intendanten Österreichs berufen. 2004–2007 war er Schauspieldirektor am Theater in St. Gallen. 2005 konnte er den Stückewettbewerb St. Galler Autorentage ins Leben rufen, außerdem begründete er die St. Galler Festspiele mit. 2007–2012 war Josef E. Köpplinger Intendant des Stadttheaters Klagenfurt. Dort gründete er 2009 den MUT-Wettbewerb für musikalisches Unterhaltungstheater und inszenierte u. a. die Uraufführungen von Peter Turrinis »Silvester« und von der verschollenen Cherubini-Oper »Koukourgi«, die von 3Sat live übertragen wurde. Gastregien waren u. a.: »Show Boat« (Opéra national du Rhin, 2002), »Der tollste Tag« (Volkstheater Wien, 2003), »Gräfin Mariza« (2004) und »Der Opernball« (2005) am Gärtnerplatztheater, »Il barbiere di Siviglia« (National Opera Tokyo, 2005), Kienzls »Evangelimann« (Volksoper Wien, 2006), die Deutsche Erstaufführung von Hans Werner Henzes »L’Upupa« (Hamburgische Staatsoper, 2006), »Les Misérables« (2007), »West Side Story« (2008) und »Le nozze di Figaro« (2010) an der Grazer Oper, »Hello, Dolly!« (Volksoper Wien, 2010), Schnitzlers »Das weite Land« (Theater in der Josefstadt Wien, 2010), »La traviata« (Aalto-Theater Essen, 2012), »Der Gockel« (Theater in der Josefstadt Wien, 2015), »Dantons Tod« (Wiener Staatsoper, 2018), »Der Barbier von Sevilla« (Staatstheater Nürnberg, 2018), »Der Bauer als Millionär« (Theater in der Josefstadt Wien, 2018), »Der Rosenkavalier« (Oper Bonn, 2019), »Die Großherzogin von Gerolstein« und »Die Zauberflöte« (beide Semperoper Dresden, 2020).

Mit der Spielzeit 2012/2013 hat Josef E. Köpplinger die Intendanz des Gärtnerplatztheaters übernommen und inszenierte hier seitdem u. a. »Im weißen Rössl«, »Anything Goes«, die Uraufführung von Friedrich Cerhas Oper »Onkel Präsident«, »Der Mann von La Mancha«, die Kontinentale Erstaufführung von »Tschitti Tschitti Bäng Bäng«, »Die Zirkusprinzessin«, »Cinderella«, die Musical-Uraufführung »Gefährliche Liebschaften« von Marc Schubring und Wolfgang Adenberg, »Singinʼ in the Rain«, »Das Lächeln einer Sommernacht«, »Viktoria und ihr Husar«, die Uraufführung von Johanna Doderers Oper »Liliom«, für die er gleichfalls als Librettist verantwortlich zeichnete, »Die Faschingsfee«, »Jesus Christ Superstar«, »Die lustige Witwe«, »My Fair Lady«, die Operetten-Uraufführung »Drei Männer im Schnee« von Thomas Pigor, »On the Town«, »Non(n)sens«, die Uraufführung von Johanna Doderers und Peter Turrinis Oper »Schuberts Reise nach Atzenbrugg« sowie »Der Barbier von Sevilla«.

2012 zeichnete ihn die Münchner Presse mit dem »AZ-Stern des Jahres« und sein Team mit dem »tz-Rosenstrauß« aus, 2013 erhielt er den Kulturpreis Bayern. 2014 folgte ein weiterer »AZ-Stern des Jahres« für die Inszenierung von »Die Zirkusprinzessin«. 2018 wurde Josef E. Köpplinger der Kulturpreis der Bayerischen Landesstiftung verliehen, 2019 wurde er für seine Inszenierung der Uraufführung »Drei Männer im Schnee« mit dem »Deutschen Musical Theater Preis« ausgezeichnet, 2020 erhielt er die »Orpheus-Nadel für besondere Verdienste um das Genre Operette

Kontakt:
Michael Gruber


Für eine vollständige Biografie kontaktieren Sie bitte: