Hans Gröning

Baritone

The German baritone Hans Gröning received his vocal training from Kammsängerin Gisela Schröter and works regularly with Gregory Lamar. He gave his debut as winner of the Rheinsberg Palace Chamber Opera International Singing Competition. His first regular engagement brought him to the Theatre of Eisenach. Since 2004, he has worked extensively as freelance singer in Germany and abroad.

Hans Gröning has had formidable successes in contemporary opera. In 2006 he sang the title role of Wolfgang Rihm’s Jakob Lenz, a production of Muziektheater Transparant from Antwerp, at the Copenhague Opera, in Brussels, Rotterdam, Luxemburg and at the Bastille Opera in Paris.

He is a regular guest at the Komische Oper Berlin where he has sung many roles, including Fafarello in The Love for three Oranges (Director: Andreas Homoki), the title role in the commissioned work, The Rider with the Wind in his Hair, by Frank Schwemmer, Albany in Aribert Reimann’s Lear(Director: Hans Neuenfels) and the Gypsy in Mussorgsky’s The Fair at Sorochyntsi (Director: Barrie Kosky).

Prominant roles in his standard repertoire include Alban Berg’s Wozzeck, Paul Hindemith’s Cardillac, Figaro (Le Nozze di Figaro), Germont (La Traviata), Scarpia (Tosca), Wolfram (Tannhäuser), Telramund (Lohengrin) and Albrich (Das Rheingold).

Gröning has worked with distinguished conductors such as Kurt Masur, Rolf Reuter, Michail Jurowski, Alejo Perez, Markus Poschner, Matthias Foremny, Markus Huber, Friedemann Layer, Anthony Bramall and Guido Johannes Rumstadt. His many concert appearances have included the Gewandhaus Leipzig, the Wroclaw Philharmonic Concert Hall, the Cologne Philharmonic Hall and the Vienna Concert Hall.

After his successful debut at Gärtnerplatz in Munich as Ollendorf (Der Bettelstudent) he has been engaged to sing Prince Ypsheim (Wiener Blut) and for the reopening of the house in 2017 the part of Zeta in The Merry Widow (Director: Josef E. Köpplinger). During the current season he also sings the part of Popoff in the operetta The Chocolate Soldierby Oscar Straus (Director: Peter  Konwitschny).

At the Staatstheater Nürnberg he sings in June and July 2019 the title role of Wolfgang Rihm’s Jakob Lenz.(Director: Tilman Knabe). Plans include his debut at Landestheater Linz as Ollendorf and he will return to Staatstheater am Gärtnerplatz and Staatstheater Nürnberg.

Website of Artist

Contact:
Mag. Leo Krischke


For a full biography please contact:

Hans Gröning

Bariton

Hans Gröning erhielt seine Gesangsausbildung bei KS Gisela Schröter und arbeitet inzwischen regelmäßig mit Gregory Lamar. Sein Debüt gab er als Preisträger des internationalen Gesangswettbewerbs der Kammeroper Schloss Rheinsberg, das erste Festengagement führte ihn an das Theater Eisenach. Seit 2004 ist er als freischaffender Sänger tätig.

Einen Schwerpunkt seiner Arbeit bildet die Interpretation zeitgenössischer Werke. 2006 gastierte er in einer belgischen Produktion von Wolfgang Rihms Jakob Lenz am Opernhaus Kopenhagen, in Brüssel, Rotterdam, Luxemburg und an der Opéra Bastille in Paris.

Er ist regelmäßiger Gast an der Komischen Oper Berlin und gestaltete hier u.a. Farfarello in Die Liebe zu den drei Orangen(Regie: Andreas Homoki), die Partie des Albany in Aribert Reimanns Lear (Regie: Hans Neuenfels) und den Zigeuner in Mussorgskis Der Jahrmarkt von Sorotschinzi (Regie: Barrie Kosky).

Zu den wichtigsten Partien seines Repertoires gehören Alban Bergs Wozzeck, Paul Hindemiths Cardillac, Figaro (Le Nozze di Figaro), Germont (La Traviata), Scarpia (Tosca), Wolfram (Tannhäuser), Telramund (Lohengrin) und Alberich (Das Rheingold). Er arbeitete mit Dirigenten wie Kurt Masur, Rolf Reuter, Michail Jurowski, Alejo Perez, Markus Poschner, Matthias Foremny, Markus Huber, Friedemann Layer, Anthony Bramall und Guido Johannes Rumstadt. Im Rahmen seiner Konzerttätigkeit war er im Gewandhaus Leipzig, der Philharmonie Wroclaw, der Kölner Philharmonie und dem Wiener Konzerthaus zu hören.

Nach seinem Debüt am Staatstheater am Gärtnerplatz als Ollendorf (Der Bettelstudent) folgte dort die Verpflichtung als Fürst Ypsheim (Wiener Blut) und zur Wiedereröffnung des Hauses im Oktober 2017 Baron Zeta in Die Lustige Witwe (Regie: Josef E. Köpplinger). In der aktuellen Spielzeit ist er in München zudem als Oberst Popoff in der Oscar Straus Operette Der Tapfere Soldat zu erleben (Regie: Peter Konwitschny).

Am Staatstheater Nürnberg verkörpert er im Juni und Juli 2019 die Titelpartie in der Neuproduktion von Wolfgang Rihms Jakob Lenz (Regie: Tilman Knabe), Pläne beinhalten u.a. sein Debüt am Landestheater Linz als Ollendorf sowie seine Rückkehr an das Staatstheater am Gärtnerplatz und an das Staatstheater Nürnberg.

Künstlerwebsite

Kontakt:
Mag. Leo Krischke


Für eine vollständige Biografie kontaktieren Sie bitte: