Marco Comin

Conductor

Born in Venice, Italy, Marco Comin is one of the most exciting conductors of the new generation. His interests and preferences range from baroque music to the great repertoire of the 19th and 20th centuries. At home, both in the concert and in the opera repertoire, he is able to inspire with gripping, emotional and highly sensitive interpretations at the same time.

From 2012/2013 to 2016/17 Marco Comin was chief conductor of the Staatstheater am Gärtnerplatz in Munich.

Here he was celebrated by audiences and press for his interpretations of Honegger's Jeanne d'Arc au Bûcher, Handel's Semele, Mozart's The Abduction from the Seraglio, Tchaikovsky's Iolanta, Verdi's Aida, Britten's Peter Grimes, Richard Strauss ballet production Schlagobers and the UA by Friedrich Cerha's Uncle President and conducted very successful baroque concert series.

Marco Comin recently had great success in Munich with Bellini's La sonnambula, which, like the majority of the productions conducted in Munich, was awarded the Rose by tz München and the star of the Munich Abendzeitung. He had just as great success with his farewell production of Mozart´s Don Giovanni.

A series of performances by Tosca took him to the Hungarian State Opera in Budapest in 2013, where he again performed with Carmen, Otello and Pagliacci / Cavalleria Rusticana. Also in 2014/15 Marco Comin made his debut with Verdi's Luisa Miller at the Stuttgart State Opera, where he returned for Nabucco in 2016/17 and was back in 2017/18 for Britten's Death in Venice and the NP Don Pasquale. In addition, he was very successful at the Graz Opera with The Abduction from the Seraglio and with the NP La Rondine and the NP Le Nozze di Figaro, with Le Nozze di Figaro he also made his debut at the Komische Oper Berlin.

In 2018/2019 he will give his debut at the Theater Bremen with an NP of Verdi's Un ballo in maschera and will make his debut with Verdi's Luisa Miller at the Aalto Theater Essen. He also returns to the Hungarian State Opera Budapest for Cavalleria Rusticana / I Pagliacci and Mascagni´s Messa di Gloria.

In his hometown Marco Comin studied piano and composition at the Conservatorio di Musica "Benedetto Marcello" as well as history at the Università Ca 'Foscari. Immediately after completing his conducting studies at the Hanns Eisler School of Music in Berlin, Marco Comin was hired as the second Kapellmeister at the Deutsches Nationaltheater in Weimar, where from the beginning he conducted major operas such as Nabucco, Tosca, Guillaume Tell and Aribert Reimann's Melusine.

In 2008 Marco Comin became the first Kapellmeister and Deputy General Music Director at the Staatstheater Kassel. There he had great successes f.e. with Mozart's Don Giovanni, Donizetti's Lucia di Lammermoor, Gounod's Faust, Verdi's Otello, Puccini's La Bohéme, Britten's A Midsummer Night's Dream and many symphonic concerts.

As guest conductor Marco Comin worked on the concert podium with the Münchner Philharmoniker, the Nordwest Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie, the Philharmonie Essen, the Mecklenburgische Staatskapelle and the Jenaer Philharmonie and with prominent soloists like the pianist Ragna Schirmer, and the star tenor Klaus-Florian Vogt. In 2014 he was invited to a concert tour with the orchestra of the Staatstheater am Gärtnerplatz in Mexico.

Contact:
Mag. Kurt-Walther Schober


For a full biography please contact:

Marco Comin

Dirigent

Geboren in Venedig, Italien, gehört Marco Comin zu den spannendsten Dirigenten der neuen Generation. Seine Interessen und Vorlieben reichen von der Aufführungspraxis der Barockmusik bis zum großen Repertoire des 19. und 20. Jahrhunderts. Zu Hause sowohl im Konzert- als auch im Opernrepertoire vermag er mit packenden, emotionalen und höchstsensiblen Interpretationen zugleich zu begeistern. 

Von 2012/2013 bis 2016/17 war Marco Comin Chefdirigent des Staatstheaters am Gärtnerplatz in München. 

Hier wurde er von Publikum und Presse für seine Interpretationen von Honeggers Jeanne d’Arc au Bûcher , Händels Semele, Mozarts Die Entführung aus dem Serail, Tschaikovskys Iolanta, Verdis Aida und der UA von Friedrich Cerhas Onkel Präsident gefeiert und leitete sehr erfolgreiche Barockkonzertserien. 

In der Spielzeit 2014/15 wurde er von Presse und Publikum gleichermaßen für sein Dirigat von Brittens Peter Grimes und Richard-Strauss-Ballettproduktion Schlagobers bejubelt. 

Großen Erfolg hatte Marco Comin in München zuletzt mit Bellinis La sonnambula, die wie der Großteil der von ihm in München geleiteten Produktionen, auch mit der Rose der tz München und dem Stern der Münchner Abendzeitung prämiert wurde. Ebenso großen Erfolg hatte er mit seiner Abschiedsproduktion Don Giovanni.

Eine Aufführungsserie von Tosca führte ihn 2013 an die Ungarische Staatsoper Budapest, wohin er mit Carmen zurückkehrte und ein Jahr später auch mit Verdis Otello erneut gastierte. Ebenfalls 2014/15 gab Marco Comin mit Verdis Luisa Miller sein Debüt an der Staatsoper Stuttgart, wo er in der Spielzeit 2016/17 mit Nabucco erneut gastierte und 2017/18 mit Britten´s Death in Venice und der NP Don Pasquale wieder zu erleben sein wird. Darüber hinaus war er an der Oper Graz mit Die Entführung aus dem Serail und mit der NP La Rondine sehr erfolgreich und gab mit Le Nozze di Figaro sein Debüt an der Komischen Oper Berlin.

Zu seinen Plänen der nächsten Zeit zählen u,.a. die NP Le Nozze di Figaro an der Oper Graz sowie Pagliacci/Cavalleria Rusticana an der Ungarischen Staatsoper Budapest.

In seiner Heimatstadt studierte Marco Comin Klavier und Komposition am Conservatorio di Musica „Benedetto Marcello“ sowie Geschichte an der Università Ca’ Foscari. Gleich nach Abschluss seines Dirigierstudiums an der Hochschule für Musik „Hanns Eisler“ in Berlin wurde Marco Comin als Zweiter Kapellmeister am Deutschen Nationaltheater in Weimar engagiert, wo er von Beginn an große Opern wie u.a. Nabucco, Tosca, Guillaume Tell und Aribert Reimanns Melusine dirigierte.

2008 wurde Marco Comin erster Kapellmeister und stellvertretender Generalmusikdirektor am Staatstheater Kassel. Dort erlebte er große Erfolge u.a. mit Mozarts Don Giovanni, Donizettis Lucia di Lammermoor, Gounods Faust, Verdis Otello, Puccinis La Bohéme, Brittens A midsummer night's dream und vielen Sinfoniekonzerten.

Als Gastdirigent arbeitete Marco Comin auf dem Konzertpodium u.a. mit den Münchner Philharmonikern, der Nordwest Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie, der Philharmonie Essen, der Mecklenburgischen Staatskapelle und der Jenaer Philharmonie und mit prominenten Solisten wie der Pianistin Ragna Schirmer, und dem Startenor Klaus-Florian Vogt zusammen. 2014 führte ihn eine Konzerttournée mit dem Orchester des Staatstheaters am Gärtnerplatz nach Mexiko.

Kontakt:
Mag. Kurt-Walther Schober


Für eine vollständige Biografie kontaktieren Sie bitte: